Federal Retired Law Officer Concealed Handgun Permit

In compliance with the Law Enforcement Officer Safety Act - Federal Law HR218, you may apply for a Retired / Separated Law Enforcement Officer Concealed Handgun Permit with the City and County of Broomfield if you qualify. Please read the following instructions carefully. Note: Retired/separated officers applying for a permit must reside or maintain a secondary residence within the City and County of Broomfield.

You may obtain a Retired / Separated Law Enforcement Officer Concealed Handgun Permit by:
  • Downloading and printing the application and information packet
  • Calling 720-887-2086 and requesting an application and information packet be sent to you

Please read the information packet thoroughly. It provides all of the information you will need to complete your application.

Once the application is completed, call 720.887.2086 to schedule an appointment.

Don't forget...

  • Leave the application unsigned -- you will need to sign it in front of a Police Department representative.
  • Include a copy of the photographic identification issued by the agency from which you retired / separated from service as a law enforcement officer.
  • Include proof of residency (Colorado Driver’s License or Colorado ID Card).
  • Fees
    • If you are a retired law enforcement officer from an outside agency and living in the City and County of Broomfield:
      • If you have a current Colorado concealed handgun permit (issued within five years of retiring form your former agency), there is no application fee required and you will not be required to pay the yearly renewal application during the first five years after retirement.  you will be required to qualify with your handgun on a yearly basis if you want to renew the permit.
      • If you do not have a current Colorado concealed handgun permit (issued within five years of retiring from your former agency), you must pay a $48 application fee yearly to the Broomfield Police Department.  You will be required to qualify with your handgun on a yearly basis if you want to renew the permit.
      • If you have been retired over five years from your former agency, you must pay a $48 application fee yearly to the Broomfield Police Department.  You will be required to qualify with your handgun on a yearly basis if you want to renew the permit.
    • If you are a retired officer from the Broomfield Police Department (must have worked ten years with the Department; if less that ten years, you must apply with the county in which you live) living in or outside of the City and County of Broomfield and applying for a federal retired officer concealed handgun permit:
      • If you have a current Colorado concealed handgun permit (issued within five years of retiring from the agency), there is no application fee required and you will not be required to pay the yearly renewal application fee during the first five years after retirement.  You will be required to qualify with your handgun on a yearly basis if you want to renew the permit.
      • If you do not have a current Colorado concealed handgun permit ((issued within five years of retiring from Broomfield), the application fee will be waived, but you must pay a $13 fee yearly to the Broomfield Police Department to have a name check completed through C.B.I.  You will be required to qualify with your handgun on a yearly basis if you want to renew the permit.
      • If you have been retired over five years, the application fee will be waived, but you must pay a $13 fee yearly to the Broomfield Police Department to have a name check completed through C.B.I.  You will be required to qualify with your handgun on a yearly basis if you want to renew the permit.
If you have any questions about concealed handgun permits, please call 720.887.2086.