- Disposable Bag Fee
Disposable Bag Fee
Did you know that the average person uses over 300 plastic bags each year? Because plastic bags are produced from non-renewable resources, they are very difficult to recycle. So, while most thin plastic bags are typically used for minutes, they will be around for more than 500 years and even longer in landfills.
Plastic bags that end up mixed with other recyclables are also a major contaminant at recycling facilities. Instead of putting those plastic bags into your garbage, bring them to an approved retailer that can recycle them, like King Soopers or Walmart.
Beginning on Jan. 1, 2023, a single-use bag fee of $0.10 per bag will be imposed by a new Colorado law, HB21-1162: Management Of Plastic Products. You can avoid the fee by bringing your own reusable bags to your favorite Broomfields stores when you shop!
How do businesses comply with the bag fee?
All reporting and remitting of the fees are required in April 2024, which would include 2023. A store is required to remit on a quarterly basis. Businesses have the opportunity to report and remit starting April 2023 to the City and County of Broomfield.
At this time, the only mechanism for payment and reporting is via the paper form and check. Broomfield is working to develop an online mechanism for these submissions. It should be noted that the fee reporting and remittance is separate from the regular sales tax return submissions.
Businesses should include the following information:
- Business name
- Business location and address information
- Number of bags sold
- Time period of collection
- Checks should notate that the fees are related to “HB21-1162 for Carryout Bags”
Businesses with multiple locations can provide one (1) consolidated form and corresponding check. The report must clearly list each location and collection separately.
Checks should be mailed to:
CCOB Finance Department
c/o Accounting Division
One Descombes Drive
Broomfield, CO 80020
For additional information, please visit the Fact Sheet or contact us with any additional questions or concerns.
Colorado Law: Management of Plastic Products
- Jan. 1, 2023: a new Colorado law will require businesses with more than three locations to collect a 10-cent fee on single-use plastic and paper bags.
- Jan. 1, 2024: Colorado law will ban single-use plastic bags at most stores and expanded polystyrene foam takeout containers (more commonly known as Styrofoam™) at restaurants.
For more information about the plastic bag ban, please email Sustainability at Sustainability@Broomfield.org.
For concerns or complaints of non-compliance or questions about how to remit payment, please email Fincollections@Broomfield.org.