- Recording will be available for in-person appointments Monday - Friday, 8:30 - 4:45 p.m. excluding holidays.
- Please check-in at the Recording door, west of Motor Vehicle located at 1 DesCombes Drive. If you have questions, please call 303.464.5109 or email firstname.lastname@example.org.
You may continue to submit documents via eRecording, mail or drop off. Documents can be dropped off in the white Utility Billing drop box located to the west of the Motor Vehicle Department at 1 Descombes Dr. If you are dropping off or mailing a document in, include a cover sheet that has your contact information and payment. if you are unsure of the cost to record your document, you can find the fees under the fees tab. If you are mailing your document in to be recorded please address it to: City & County of Broomfield Recording Division, 1 DesCombes Dr. Broomfield, CO 80020.
ABOUT THE RECORDING OFFICE
The Recording Division of the Clerk and Recorder’s Office is responsible for recording, imaging, maintaining and providing access to all documents that are a permanent public record. These documents may include real estate transactions in the City and County of Broomfield, marriage licenses, civil union licenses, military discharges, death certificates, uniform commercial code (UCC), and any other vital records.
DISCLAIMER: Although we will record any document presented by a customer, we are unable to provide legal advice as to what type of document is needed, or how to complete a document. We recommend contacting your own legal counsel. Additionally, once a document has been recorded, it cannot be reversed. Please use caution when recording.
SEARCH PUBLIC RECORDS - Find recorded documents dating back to November 2001 by using our online search. If the search is prior to November 2001, it may be necessary to search one of the four original counties that made up Broomfield, being Adams, Boulder, Jefferson or Weld county. To search for a recorded document in one of the four original counties, please click on one of the links referenced above to continue the search.
Our office will not conduct searches of public records on your behalf, pursuant to C.R.S. 30-10-101 (2.5)(c).
Copies may be printed through the database, however, if a certified copy is needed, a request may be made via mail with payment in the form of cash, check, or money order.
- 1. What are the fees for recording documents?
- The fees for recording most documents are $13.00 for the first page, and $5.00 for each additional page. For additional information view the fee schedule
- 2. What are the recording fees for a Uniform Commercial Code (UCC) document?
The fees for recording a UCC document are $13.00 for a document with two pages or less, and $18.00 for three or more pages.
E-recorded UCC filings are $8.00 per document.
- 3. What are the basic requirements for recording a document?
- Submit correct fees - cash, check or money order only. May be sent with original document by mail or submitted in person
- Check and money orders payable to City and County of Broomfield
- A one inch (1") margin at top and bottom of document, with a one-half (1/2) inch on the left and right side margins per Colorado state statute
- Provide a return address to return the document by mail, or the recorded document may be picked up by the customer after 8:30 a.m. the next business day
- All documents must be in English or be accompanied by a certified translation per Colorado State Statute
- 4. Where can I get forms?
- The Clerk and Recorder does not provide forms for legal and recording purposes, however, some forms are available through this link. Forms can also be purchased at any office supply store or other online source. It is recommended that legal advice be obtained before recording any legal document, as these documents may affect your legal rights.
- 5. What happens to my document when it is presented for recording?
- If the document meets the basic requirements as outlined in FAQ #3, it is accepted and processed to become a permanent public record. A label showing the reception number is placed on the document, it is then optically scanned and stored in our database, and is now considered recorded. The original document is then returned to the responsible party, either by mail or customer pickup.
- 6. Are recorded documents available online?
Unofficial images of the recorded documents are available for viewing online only. The images are available from November 15, 2001, to present day. Click on Search Recorded Documents on the Recording home page to access.
- 7. How do I obtain copies or certified copies of a recorded document?
You may order a copy or a certified copy of a recorded document either in person or by mail. If requesting by mail, include the recording (reception) number of the document, or the name(s) on the document, and the approximate recording date. Also include, the address where the copy should be mailed, and a check for the amount due. Fees for copies are $.25 per page. For a certified copy, the fee is an additional $1.00 per document. Only documents within the City and County of Broomfield Recording database can be certified.
Military Discharge documents are available to the person named at no charge. If you need a copy of a document recorded prior to November 15, 2001, please contact the previous county for their assistance. Adams County Clerk & Recorder - 720.523.6020; Boulder County Clerk & Recorder - 303.413.7770; Jefferson County Clerk & Recorder - 303.271.8121; Weld County Clerk & Recorder - 970.304.6520.